I want the books… You can’t handle the books!

Posted: May 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

I never thought such a day would ever come. A day when there would be an excess of time. Oh, so much time. But still not enough. Not enough to read all the books I want to. Yes, the day when there would be too many books to read them all.

It’s a bittersweet moment. On one hand I rejoice at having so much to read, and on the other I curse myself for not being able to read them. I conveniently blamed it on time. But the real culprits are the books themselves. Why? Because there are so many. When you finish one, you just pick up the next one that brushes your fingertips. But in that interim period a bevy of titles are thrown at you, leaving you flabbergasted at such a joyful moment. “Ah more the merrier..” is what your mind is fooled into believing. Until you start making plans to read, said books, at a future date. “I will read this as soon as I finish these other two!” And it doesn’t happen. Because by the time you pick up the second book, there are five more to choose from.

And now what?

Pick and choose and read just a select number of books? No way. How could you do such a thing? It’s a monstrous act. Books are meant to be soaked up, whatever they are. It doesn’t mean you read random books you would have no interest in. It comes from honing your interests to suit a wider range. Cause there is nothing like widening your horizons with the words of intellectuals and fools alike. They put it down on paper, and a humble request from them is for you to read their thoughts. And I shall. Or so I make the plans. Well, it doesn’t work.

It just feels insulting to pass on a new idea in the form of pages. So I currently have thirteen books waiting for me in my study. And it’s even worse when you try reading a fourteen book series. I finished seven and literally had to take a break so as to read some other authors. It’s like an addiction. But the good kind. The really good kind. The kind that gives you more than you want. Quantitatively and qualitatively. It’s our job to imbibe it all. And that’s just what I plan on doing, however long the list of books might extend. The world is full of books undiscovered. It’s a hidden treasure, never meant to be hidden.

Comments
  1. Devika says:

    http://www.amazon.com/The-Paris-Wife-A-Novel/dp/0345521307 , since you liked midnight in paris so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

